See Jon Batiste in concert? Don’t even hesitate

19 Jan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If it’s New Orleans music, count me in.

Like the food, the music of New Orleans is delectable, enticing, deep, rich … and varied. I’m willing to give it all a try. If it resonates with me, I’ll come back time and time again. And if it ends up being a miss, there’s lots more to try.

So when my wife heard of NOLA native Jon Batiste making an appearance in nearby Iowa City on my birthday, she bought tickets. We weren’t familiar with Batiste, but we were willing to give it a try.

Boy, are we glad we did.

I knew of the Batiste family, which is talented and numerous. But I knew nothing about Jonathan. I learned that after much success in New Orleans, he moved to New York City while still a teen-ager, studying at the Julliard. And my impression of New York jazz was different than that of New Orleans jazz.

If there was a hesitation on my part, it was that I was afraid the music would be a bit staid, a bit too laid back, too “smooth.” I like my NOLA music — like my food — bold and forward.

But Batiste and his band, Stay Human, didn’t disappoint.

Among their original tunes were Express Yourself and Let God Lead,” from their latest release, “Social Music.” Both songs could raise your blood pressure.

And if there were still any doubts that this would be a high energy performance, Batiste played a raucous, pounding version of the classic, “St. James Infirmary”  (also on “Social Music” and also more raucous in person than on this video version).

Batiste and his band have a great stage presence, too. He smiles, laughs and engages the audience. They walk to the front of the stage and jam, and they invite audience participation. At one point, they even played with a toddler from the audience walking among the band members.

As they wandered down from the stage to play some songs on the theater floor, Batiste shook our hands. A friend mentioned to him that it was my birthday. He immediately ran back on stage, grabbed his melodica (which he calls a harmonaboard) and played me a quick rendition of “Happy Birthday!” Too cool.

If you get a chance to see Batiste, don’t even hesitate. I know there won’t be an ounce of hesitation on my part next time I get the chance.

♦ ♦ ♦

Here are some other useful links on Batiste:

Official web site

Wikipedia entry for Jonathan Batiste

Several clips of Batiste on “Treme” in one video

Treme’s Delmond Lambreaux plays “Milenberg Joys” with Batiste on piano

NPR story on Batiste

I'd love to read your comments!

Must Hike Must Eat

Trail stories and recipes from life as a paleo inspired outdoor adventurer.

Poetry In Motion

I'll stand before the Lord of Song / With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah - Leonard Cohen

Running with Scissors

Careening through life as a mom, runner, ecologist, and writer

Hair with Samm

Images Hair Salon

Omni Running

Running for the fun of it

A trail running guy

A journey into running trails and ultra marathons

No Paine No Gain

Runner, writer - follow the adventure.

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Just Call Me Shortcut

thoughts from an ENFP who can't seem to stay on course

distance ahead

Ultramarathons.

In the Shadow of the Rockies

Running the trails of Calgary, and beyond

Teton Romeo

Tails from Teton Valley, Idaho

Elevation Trail

ET - STFUP

Racing Through My Life

My Race Reports

wonderjess

where I do it all

Beaverhead 100K and 55K Endurance Runs

Run the remote and rugged Continental Divide National Scenic Trail in the Beaverhead Mountains dividing Idaho's Lemhi River Valley and Montana's Big Hole Valley.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

One and a Half Runners

Don't be dumb in the first half, don't be a wimp in the second

amy c writes

words from a writer, runner and mama of twins

andrealinares

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Tim Tollefson

Trail junkie for Hoka One One; 2014 U.S. 50k Trail Champion; Physical Therapist, Mammoth Performance Lab Director; Coffee addict; Powered SRA Elite and GU; My wife and I have an open relationship with running...

Tasharama_A_Go_Go

Musings of a musician turned ultramarathon runner trying to pursue my dreams whilst juggling a professional career and bipolar

iowagirlontherun.wordpress.com/

Running down a dream.

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

Dan's Marathon

Running long distances across the country

Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running

Ultrarunner Joe

My experiences and insights from out on the trail

Jack & Viv

Running, reading and raising a family

Bryan Odeen

give your soul some breathing room

