Art that inspires

7 Feb

Click on any photo above to launch the gallery.

Two of my inspirations have always been great artwork and great athletes.

I dabble in both art and athletics, and I wish I had more talent for both. I find that both can inspire me to be a better person, to broaden my horizons, to stretch myself.

The gallery above features some of the artwork and artists who inspire me. As you can tell, I enjoy Regionalism, a movement led by Grant Wood, Thomas Hart Benton and John Steuart Curry, and practiced by others, including the lesser known John Bloom.

Bloom, like Wood, was from Iowa. My wife and I bought a print of Bloom’s in the early 1980s while at an art show in Stone City, famous for an art colony in the early 1930s. More recently, we found a treasure trove of Bloom’s work at Mississippi Fine Arts in East Davenport, Iowa. A reproduction of Bloom’s “Tennis” (shown below) is available at the gallery.

The gallery maintains an informative site on Bloom, and the gallery owner was instrumental in encouraging Bloom to continue his artwork in his later years and in making Bloom’s work better known.

Many Iowans may be more familiar with Bloom’s wife, Isabel, who was a sculptor and whose works can be purchased at many locations across the state and elsewhere.

I also like the style of the Hudson River School, which is exemplified in the gallery above by Albert Bierstadt and Thomas Moran. I enjoy these two practitioners because so much of their work featured the West. Moran accompanied one of the earliest organized expeditions to Yellowstone, and his fantastic work of that area was instrumental in convincing Congress to establish the national park.

And as a lover of the West, I’m most thrilled when artists of either of these movements — Hudson River School or Regionalism — tackled Western subjects.

Travel is another one of my passions, and here’s a link to a developing Hudson River School Art Trail, where you can see the locations that inspired the artists. I’ll be especially excited when they add the Wyoming locations. I’ll need to put this excursion on my bucket list.

Part of the purpose of this blog is to serve as my own personal repository. I’ve wanted a place to file information so I can easily find it when I need it. So this gallery can be found on a permanent basis at this link under the “Art” menu.

Do you have a favorite artist? Do you have a favorite artwork? Leave me a comment to share your favorites.

4 Responses to “Art that inspires”

  1. Diane Vance February 7, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    a side of you I didn’t know about. what kind of art outlet do you do? I took water color classes along with Cindy from Wendall Mohr in Keokuk and really liked it but didn’t advance much. it’s still fun to splash around with!

    I looked up the DeWitt, Ia post office wall mural, remembering it was a John Bloom; yes it is and I emailed you a link but not sure if it went through (to dgc address) if you’re ever passing through DeWitt, go visit the post office!

    Diane

    Like

    • msmidt February 7, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

      I mostly do watercolors, although I’ve done a few oils, some intaglio printing, photography, some sculpture, stained glass, etc. Haven’t done much except photography in a long time, but I’d like to get back into watercolors. Mostly I just like the artistic process.

      Like

  2. Jim Brennan February 7, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    Interesting, and inspiring. Great post!

    Like

    • msmidt February 7, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

      Thanks, Jim! Much appreciated.

      Like

I'd love to read your comments!

Corrine Malcolm

Ultimate Cookie Monster. Lover of Bacon.

adventure nomad

Adventure. Travel. Photography.

over60hiker

Traveling Adventures of Dan & Hannah

Des Hikes Thru

Daily Journals on Thru Hiking ... AZT Thru Hike Starting end of March 2024

What's Your Dream?

Makin' dreams a reality

Must Hike Must Eat

Nature Your Soul | Nature Your Body

Running with Scissors

Careening through life as a mom, runner, ecologist, and writer

PACWEST Photography

Image your Life

Omni Running

All about running and having fun

A trail running guy

A journey into running trails and ultra marathons

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Just Call Me Shortcut

very specific thoughts from an Enneagram 5w4

distance ahead

Ultramarathons.

In the Shadow of the Rockies

Running the trails of Calgary, and beyond

Teton Romeo

Tails from Teton Valley, Idaho

Local Mind Media

Inside Reality of Being a Police Officer

Racing Through My Life

My Race Reports

wonderjess

where I do it all

Beaverhead 100K and 55K Endurance Runs

Run the remote and rugged Continental Divide National Scenic Trail in the Beaverhead Mountains dividing Idaho's Lemhi River Valley and Montana's Big Hole Valley.

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

One and a Half Runners

Don't be dumb in the first half, don't be a wimp in the second

amy c writes

words from a writer, runner and mama of twins

andrealinares

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Tim Tollefson

Trail junkie for Hoka One One; 2014 U.S. 50k Trail Champion; Physical Therapist, Mammoth Performance Lab Director; Coffee addict; Powered SRA Elite and GU; My wife and I have an open relationship with running...

Tasharama_A_Go_Go

Musings of a musician turned ultra runner

iowagirlontherun.wordpress.com/

Running down a dream.

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

Dan's Marathon

Running long distances across the country

Chasing 42

Life, the Universe, & Running